I prefer to eat organic wherever practical. In general, I feel it’s better for the environment, better for animals, and better for people. For me specifically, I find it often tastes better, and the use of organic rather than “normal” milk has a measurable positive effect on the functioning of my digestive system.

Here lately, though, with my job search entering its sixth month, there hasn’t been much that’s practical about paying a nickel more for groceries than I have to. And even when I had considerably more money and more options for where to purchase food than I do right now, eating strictly organic was far too expensive to be feasible. So, I had to pick and choose what to purchase under the “organic” label and what to simply seek out the lowest price on. In choosing my produce, I used a list produced by the Environmental Working Group as a guide to what to seek organics on and what I could relax about.

The page I linked above gives the full list of 43 types of produce they tested. The link at the top of the page lets you download a wallet-sized guide to print and cut out, listing the top and bottom 12 in terms of pesticide residue present in those fruits and veggies once they’ve been washed and (if appropriate) peeled. It’s handy to use, and makes it easier to go a little greener without giving up the greenbacks.

